Nexo Review: Crypto Lending & Earn Platform

Nexo advertises up to 9.5% APY on USDT and 8.5% on USDC — its published ceilings on 22 August 2026 — plus instant crypto-backed loans and insurance that belongs to its custodians rather than to Nexo. Founded in 2018, it serves around 6 million users across many jurisdictions.

4.8/5
  • Security: 4.9/5
  • Interest Rates: 4.7/5
  • User Experience: 4.8/5
  • Features: 4.8/5
  • Support: 4.7/5

Introduction

Nexo is a centralised crypto lending and earn platform founded in 2018 by Antoni Trenchev and Kosta Kantchev. Headquartered in Zug, Switzerland (Nexo AG) with operations across Europe and beyond, it serves around 6 million users across many jurisdictions. The platform supports 100+ digital assets and fiat currencies for earning, borrowing, trading, and card payments — all under a unified regulatory and custody framework.

Yield rates are tiered by NEXO token holding percentage, but Nexo publishes ceilings rather than a tier-by-tier table. On 22 August 2026 those ceilings were up to 9.5% APY on USDT, 8.5% on USDC, 5.25% on Ethereum and 4.7% on Bitcoin, each of them a maximum that assumes the top tier. What a base-tier depositor would receive is not a published figure. Interest accrues daily. Fixed-term deposits (30–365 days) pay higher rates than flexible accounts that allow instant withdrawal.

Crypto-backed loans are approved automatically within 60 seconds. Maximum LTV depends on the asset: 50% for Bitcoin and Ethereum, 90% for stablecoins, around 30% for major altcoins (SOL, XRP), and 15% for the NEXO token. Borrowing is priced dynamically from around 2.9% APR (rising toward roughly 18.9% at Base tier); 0% is available only to top-tier borrowers when their LTV is at or below 20%, or via Nexo's separate Zero-interest Credit product.

Collateral remains in Nexo's custody during the loan term — no selling required, so the taxable disposal event does not trigger. You should monitor your LTV ratio closely, as market drops can trigger margin calls and automatic liquidation if your collateral value falls below the maintenance threshold.

Custody sits with third parties — Ledger, Fireblocks, Bakkt and Tangany — and the insurance follows the custody rather than the platform. Nexo's own site names no coverage figure at all; the one a reader is likely to meet, $150 million, is Ledger's and is pooled across every Ledger enterprise client. Funds sit in a mix of hot and cold storage; Nexo does not publish a specific cold-storage percentage.

The platform has maintained zero security breaches since 2018. Keys are stored in FIPS 140-2 Level 3 Hardware Security Modules distributed across geographically separated facilities.

Regulatory posture as of mid-2026 is mixed. Nexo's own MiCA CASP licence is still pending — it filed its application with the Bulgarian FSC in February 2026 and is not yet authorised, so MiCA client-asset and conduct protections do not yet attach to Nexo itself. In the meantime EEA services run through MiCA/MiFID-licensed partners: Tangany, a BaFin-regulated Munich custodian, holds client assets, and DLT Finance, a Frankfurt investment firm, provides the trading infrastructure — both listed on BaFin's register and ESMA's CASP register. This is materially different from Nexo holding an active EU passport in its own name.

Nexo's own licences page lists registrations with the California DFPI, Australia's AUSTRAC, Hong Kong (TCSP), Poland and the Seychelles — but no UK FCA registration and no Bulgarian VASP licence, so treat any 'FCA-registered' framing with caution.

In the US, Nexo settled with the SEC and 17 state regulators for $45 million in January 2023 and closed its Earn Interest Product to US persons; it then re-entered the US market on 16 February 2026 through a partnership with Bakkt, offering yield, an exchange and crypto-backed credit lines via licensed US providers (the old Earn Interest Product stays discontinued). Separately, on 14 January 2026 the California DFPI issued a $500,000 consent order over unlicensed lending between 2018 and 2022; that matter is resolved, with Californian balances moving to a licensed US affiliate (Nexo Financial).

This regulatory posture proved consequential during the 2022 CeFi lending crisis: Celsius, BlockFi, and Voyager collapsed while Nexo continued operations, returning funds to users on time and maintaining platform access throughout the market stress period.

Technical Infrastructure and Risk Management

Nexo's architecture combines traditional banking security with blockchain infrastructure. Hot wallets handle operational liquidity while the majority of assets sit in offline, air-gapped cold storage protected by multi-signature authentication (Nexo does not publish a specific cold-storage percentage). Keys are stored in Hardware Security Modules (HSMs) certified to FIPS 140-2 Level 3 standards, distributed across geographically separated facilities to prevent single points of failure.

Real-time monitoring algorithms continuously assess market conditions, collateral values, and liquidation thresholds. Machine learning models analyse historical price patterns and volatility indicators to predict potential market movements and adjust loan-to-value ratios before risks materialise. Portfolio composition is monitored every 5 minutes and margin calls trigger when the health factor drops below 1.1.

Asset price feeds aggregate from twelve independent sources including Chainlink decentralised oracles, Coinbase Pro API, and Binance WebSocket streams. Statistical outlier detection using z-score analysis flags anomalous price data. Major cryptocurrency prices update every 15 seconds; altcoin valuations refresh every 60 seconds. Weighted averaging accounts for trading volume and market depth to prevent manipulation attacks.

Cryptographic Infrastructure and Key Management

Bitcoin-based assets use elliptic curve cryptography with secp256k1 parameters; newer blockchain protocol assets use Ed25519 signatures. Key derivation follows BIP32 hierarchical deterministic wallet standards, generating unique addresses for each transaction while maintaining mathematical relationships. Multi-signature schemes require approval from multiple HSMs in different jurisdictions.

Risk Management and Liquidation Mechanisms

Loan-to-value ratios adjust dynamically using exponentially weighted moving average volatility calculations. Stablecoins support the highest maximum LTV at 90%, Bitcoin and Ethereum reach 50%, and major altcoins (SOL, XRP) top out around 30%. When a position breaches the 83.3% LTV liquidation threshold, Nexo's automated oracle liquidates internally with partial sells designed to bring the ratio back to a safe level while minimising the collateral converted. Strategic partnerships with institutional market makers help provide liquidity for large liquidation events.

Compliance Automation

AML/KYC infrastructure processes over 50 compliance rules simultaneously. Transactions exceeding $1,000 are automatically checked against FATF travel rule requirements. Identity verification integrates Jumio, Refinitiv World-Check sanctions screening, and proprietary risk scoring across 200+ data points including device fingerprinting and IP geolocation. Enhanced due diligence applies source-of-funds documentation and PEP screening for flagged accounts.

What's New in Nexo

If you used Nexo before 2025, here are the changes that matter most for your experience. Start with who publishes the coverage figure. Nexo's own site now names none; the $150 million a reader meets is Ledger's pooled programme, shared across every Ledger enterprise client. The help-centre article this review used to point at no longer exists, and nothing replaced it.

On withdrawals, Nexo's own support documentation states that crypto withdrawals are processed within 24 hours on the automated platform, subject to blockchain confirmations — in practice many settle much faster once confirmations clear. The supported asset list expanded to 100+ cryptocurrencies and fiat currencies. On MiCA: Nexo's CASP application is pending with the Bulgarian FSC (filed February 2026); until authorisation is granted, there is no EU-wide MiCA passport — continue to check country-by-country availability within the EU.

For top-tier users, borrowing is priced dynamically from around 2.9% APR rather than a flat tier rate. A 0% APR is available only when the loan-to-value ratio is at or below 20%, or via Nexo's separate Zero-interest Credit product — it is no longer an automatic perk of holding NEXO. You should run the numbers carefully, because the NEXO token exposure required to reach Platinum introduces its own price volatility risk. Nexo Pro also gained TWAP and VWAP order types, which are primarily useful if you trade positions above $10,000 and want to minimise market impact.

Nexo Overview: The Pioneer of Crypto Lending

Nexo crypto earning service overview showing services and features
Nexo overview: earning, lending, and payment services

Founded in 2018 by Antoni Trenchev and Kosta Kantchev, Nexo applied for regulatory licences before entering each jurisdiction — the opposite approach to most early CeFi platforms that launched first and dealt with regulators later. This compliance-first strategy meant slower growth initially but proved decisive during the 2022 crisis: while Celsius, BlockFi, and Voyager froze withdrawals and filed for bankruptcy, Nexo processed every withdrawal request on time and continued paying interest without interruption.

The practical difference between Nexo and a traditional bank savings account is significant. A UK high-street savings account pays 0.5-2% APY on GBP. Nexo publishes no base-tier figure for GBP, so the low end of what you would actually receive is not a disclosed number; its published ceilings on 22 August 2026 were 9.5% on USDT and 8.5% on USDC, with daily compounding. However, bank deposits carry FSCS protection up to £120,000 backed by the UK government, while the insurance behind a Nexo balance is a custodian's private policy that answers for theft of keys and insider collusion, not for Nexo itself failing. You should weigh this trade-off against your personal risk tolerance and deposit size.

Nexo serves both retail users (minimum deposit as low as $10) and institutional clients (dedicated desk for deposits above $100,000). The institutional offering includes segregated custody accounts, custom API integrations, and named relationship managers. Corporate treasury teams using Nexo for yield on idle crypto holdings should request the institutional terms, which often include customised rates and withdrawal limits.

Core Products & Services

Nexo comprehensive product ecosystem showing earning rates, financing options, trading features and crypto card services
Nexo comprehensive product suite: earning, financing, exchange, and payment solutions

Yield Generation

Deposits across 100+ supported assets earn interest through institutional lending facilities. APY rates adjust every 24 hours based on market conditions. Nexo's advertised stablecoin ceilings on 22 August 2026 were 9.5% on USDT and 8.5% on USDC, and it publishes no base-tier figure to put under them. Interest accrues daily at 00:00 UTC. Flexible savings allow instant withdrawal; fixed-term deposits (30–365 days) offer enhanced yields with a lock-up period.

Collateralised Lending

Bitcoin and Ethereum collateral support a maximum LTV of 50%; stablecoins reach 90%, while major altcoins (SOL, XRP) top out around 30%. Loan applications process automatically within 60 seconds. Rates start from around 2.9% APR dynamically (rising toward ~18.9% at Base tier), with 0% available only to top-tier borrowers at LTV of 20% or below (or via the separate Zero-interest Credit product); disbursement occurs instantly through pre-funded liquidity pools without selling the underlying collateral. For a step-by-step walkthrough of the borrowing process, see our Nexo borrowing review.

Nexo Card

Crypto collateral determines spending limits across Mastercard's network at over 100 million merchant locations worldwide. Transactions process in real-time with automatic collateral monitoring. Cashback of 0.5–2% is distributed in NEXO tokens (or 0.1–0.5% in BTC), with the rate scaling by loyalty tier and requiring a $5,000+ balance for tiers above Base. The card operates in Credit Mode (a crypto-backed credit line) and Debit Mode (spending assets directly). Foreign-exchange fees are low rather than absent — around 0.2% on weekdays for EEA, UK and Swiss residents (about 0.7% at weekends) and roughly 2% for the rest of the world; verify the current card terms.

Nexo Pro Trading

Nexo Pro is Nexo's advanced trading venue with aggregated liquidity across connected exchanges. Advanced order types include TWAP and VWAP algorithms. Trading fees start at 0.5% and scale down to 0.1% for high-volume accounts. NEXO token holders receive additional fee discounts up to 25%. Spot and margin positions support leverage up to 3:1 for qualified accounts.

Security & Compliance: What Is Actually Protected

Nexo protection protocols including insurance coverage and legal adherence
Nexo security infrastructure, custodian-held insurance and regulatory oversight

Security Infrastructure

Nexo holds user funds in a mix of hot and cold storage via custody partners, using multi-signature wallets across geographically separated facilities (Nexo does not publish a specific cold-storage percentage). Its security page names Ledger and Fireblocks globally, Bakkt for the United States and Tangany for the EEA as of 22 August 2026; older Nexo material also named BitGo, so treat any list of its custodians as open rather than closed. Which custodian holds a given balance is not disclosed, and that matters, because the insurance belongs to the custodian.

Nexo's own site names no coverage figure. Ledger, one of those custodians, does: a pooled $150 million programme underwritten by Arch Insurance (UK) Limited. 'Pooled' is Ledger's word, and it decides what the number means — $150 million is a ceiling on everything Ledger holds for all its enterprise clients at once, not a sum reserved for Nexo and not a per-account limit. Marsh appears alongside Arch in the announcements as the broker that placed the cover; a broker carries none of the risk.

What is missing is as material as what is published. There is no scope clause, no exclusion list and no renewal date in Nexo's public material, and no policy wording to read. Ledger's own announcement names three insured perils — third-party theft of the master seed and private keys after a physical breach of a hardware security module, theft during the onboarding transmission, and insider theft by collusion — and anything outside those three sits outside the cover. Binance's SAFU fund holds approximately $1 billion by comparison, but it is a reserve the operator funds and can redirect, not a policy with a counterparty; the difference between a reserve and a contract is set out in our crypto lending risks and insurance guide.

You should enable all available security features before depositing: activate 2FA (authenticator app, not SMS), set up withdrawal address whitelisting, and configure session timeout to auto-lock after 5 minutes. If you hold more than $10,000 on the platform, consider splitting across flexible and fixed terms so that a single withdrawal action cannot drain your entire balance.

Nexo has maintained zero security breaches since 2018 — eight years of operation including the 2022 CeFi crisis. Regular penetration testing is conducted by third-party security firms, though Nexo does not publish the audit firm names or full reports publicly, which is a transparency gap compared to DeFi protocols with open-source code.

Regulatory Compliance

If your jurisdiction matters to you — and it should — Nexo's licensing profile gives you specific legal recourse that offshore-only platforms cannot. Each licence below means a regulator can compel Nexo to return your funds or face penalties, which is the practical difference between a licence and a marketing claim.

  • European Union: Nexo's own MiCA CASP application is pending with the Bulgarian FSC (filed February 2026) — not yet authorised, so no EU-wide passport in Nexo's own name. EEA services currently run through MiCA/MiFID-licensed partners: Tangany (BaFin-regulated custody) holds client assets and DLT Finance (Frankfurt trading firm) provides the trading infrastructure, both on BaFin's register and ESMA's CASP register — so MiCA protections attach to those partners, not yet to Nexo itself
  • United Kingdom: Not on the FCA's Cryptoasset Register — Nexo's own licences page lists no UK FCA registration, and UK clients are onboarded via financial-promotion arrangements rather than direct FCA authorisation
  • United States: Nexo re-entered the US market on 16 February 2026 through a Bakkt partnership, offering yield, an exchange and crypto-backed credit lines via licensed US providers; the old Earn Interest Product — discontinued after the $45 million January 2023 SEC and 17-state-regulator settlement — remains closed. Verify current product availability for your state on Nexo's supported-jurisdictions page before depositing
  • California enforcement: On 14 January 2026 the California DFPI issued a $500,000 consent order over unlicensed lending between 2018 and 2022. It is resolved — not an operational halt — with Californian balances moving to a licensed US affiliate (Nexo Financial)
  • Other registrations: California DFPI, Australia's AUSTRAC, Hong Kong (TCSP), Poland (RDWW) and the Seychelles FSA per Nexo's own licences page. Note: FINMA has publicly stated it does not license or supervise Nexo AG, so do not read any 'Swiss regulated' framing as FINMA oversight
  • Bulgaria: No Bulgarian VASP licence is listed on Nexo's licences page; the Bulgarian FSC connection is the pending MiCA CASP application (filed February 2026), not an active licence

Transparency and What You Can Verify

Nexo announced a real-time reserves attestation by Moore Johannesburg on 24 April 2023, but it was published on the auditor's own domain at trustreserve.co/nexo, and that page has returned 404 since at least 19 November 2023 (rechecked 23 August 2026). Recurring SOC 2 Type 2 and SOC 3 examinations are conducted by A-LIGN. However, you should note that these are attestations (point-in-time snapshots), not full audits of the reserve management process — a distinction that matters if you are comparing Nexo against DeFi protocols where reserves are verifiable on-chain in real time.

Nexo publishes nothing in its place, so there is no live attestation to check before depositing. You can also review Nexo's quarterly compliance reports, which disclose regulatory updates by jurisdiction. For amounts above $100,000, consider contacting Nexo's institutional desk to discuss segregated custody arrangements.

Nexo Loyalty Programme: Maximising Benefits

Loyalty Tiers and What They Cost You

Nexo ties its best rates to NEXO token holdings as a percentage of your total portfolio. The four tiers — Base (0–1%), Silver (1–5%), Gold (5–10%), Platinum (10%+) — each unlock progressively better yields, loan rates, and card cashback. The critical question is whether the rate improvement justifies the token exposure you must take on.

Here is the practical cost. On a $30,000 portfolio, reaching Gold tier requires $1,500–$3,000 in NEXO tokens. The 25% interest bonus on $30,000 at stablecoin rates adds roughly $600–$900 per year in extra yield. If NEXO's price drops 30% during that year (it fell 60% in 2022), your token loss could exceed the bonus gained. You should run this calculation for your own portfolio size before committing to a tier above Silver.

Platinum tier (10%+) is most appropriate if you already hold NEXO for governance or dividend exposure and would hold the token regardless of the loyalty programme. The 0% APR loan benefit at Platinum only applies when your NEXO holdings meet a separate collateral threshold — read the terms carefully, as the 0% rate is not automatic for all Platinum members.

NEXO Token: Utility and Risks

NEXO token holders historically received 30% of the company's profits as quarterly dividends, but a governance vote discontinued that model — the final dividend was paid out and holders now receive daily interest on NEXO tokens instead. You can also use NEXO to pay trading fees at a 25% discount and loan interest at reduced rates. The governance function allows token holders to vote on platform decisions, though participation rates have historically been low.

The risk you should weigh: NEXO is a single-issuer token whose value depends entirely on Nexo's business performance. If the company faces regulatory action or a liquidity event, the token would likely drop faster than your other holdings. Never hold more NEXO than you can afford to lose entirely — even if a higher tier looks attractive on the yield calculator.

Interest Rates & Earning Opportunities

Published Rate Ceilings (as of 22 August 2026)

Every figure below is the maximum Nexo advertises on its own earn page, read on 22 August 2026, and each assumes the top loyalty tier. Nexo publishes no per-tier table, so the range beneath each ceiling is not disclosed — the difference between the headline and what a base-tier depositor receives is a number you cannot check in advance. Rates adjust daily.

Stablecoins

  • USDT: Up to 9.5% APY with daily compounding — Nexo's advertised ceiling on this asset
  • USDC: Up to 8.5% APY
  • The 'up to 13%' headline is not a stablecoin rate. It is Nexo's rate on DOT, whose price risk is yours
  • Base tier: no published figure — Nexo advertises ceilings only

Major Cryptocurrencies

  • Bitcoin (BTC): Up to 4.7% APY
  • Ethereum (ETH): Up to 5.25% APY
  • XRP and Solana (SOL): Up to 6.25% and 7% APY respectively
  • Polkadot (DOT): Up to 13% APY — the source of the headline number, and the highest rate on the page
  • NEXO Token: Up to 3% APY; token holders now receive daily interest (the former 30%-of-profits quarterly dividend was discontinued by governance vote)

Fiat Currencies

  • USD, EUR, GBP: fiat balances earn at the stablecoin ceilings above; Nexo publishes no separate fiat rate table
  • Fixed Terms: Nexo says terms of one to twelve months pay more than flexible savings, but does not publish the fixed-term rates themselves
  • No FDIC insurance: Nexo is not a bank and is not FDIC-insured — fiat and asset protection comes from private custodial insurance, not the FDIC's $250,000 deposit guarantee. This review previously listed Lloyd's, Arch and Marsh side by side, as though three parties stood behind a balance. Only one of the three carries risk: Ledger names Arch Insurance (UK) Limited as the underwriter. Marsh is the broker that placed the cover, and Lloyd's is the market it was placed into — a broker and a market are not parties you could claim against
  • Multi-Currency: JPY, CHF, and other major currencies supported for global users

Earnings by Tier and Term

If you deposit $10,000 in USDT at Nexo's advertised ceiling of 9.5% APY, you earn roughly $2.60 per day — about $950 over a year. The same deposit at base tier earns less, but by how much is not something Nexo publishes, so that half of the comparison cannot be worked out before you deposit.

The decision you should make first: do you need liquidity within 30 days? If yes, use flexible terms and accept the lower rate. If you can lock funds for 3–12 months, fixed terms at Gold or Platinum tier will outperform flexible by 40–80% on the same deposit. Calculate your NEXO token requirement before committing — reaching Platinum requires 10% of your total portfolio in NEXO tokens, which introduces its own price volatility risk.

For a $50,000 portfolio split across BTC (40%), ETH (30%), and USDC (30%), the blended yield at Nexo's published ceilings would be approximately: $20K × 4.7% + $15K × 5.25% + $15K × 8.5% = $940 + $788 + $1,275 = $3,003 per year, and only if every asset earns at its maximum. You should compare this against staking ETH directly via Lido (~3.5% APY with no counterparty risk) to decide whether the Nexo premium justifies the CeFi custody trade-off for your situation.

Nexo Card

Card Features

The Nexo Card works differently from a debit card: instead of drawing from a cash balance, it uses your deposited crypto as collateral to fund purchases. When you buy a $100 item, Nexo extends $100 of credit against your BTC or ETH holdings. Your crypto position stays intact, so you avoid a taxable disposal event in most jurisdictions. You repay the balance from interest earned on your deposits, or manually when convenient.

  • Instant Approval: Apply in-app and receive a virtual card within minutes; physical card ships within 5-10 business days
  • Global Acceptance: Works at over 100 million Mastercard merchants worldwide — anywhere Mastercard is accepted
  • Regional availability: The Nexo Card is offered only to residents of selected European countries (the EEA and the UK) and is not part of the 2026 US relaunch — check Nexo's current eligibility list for your country (as of July 2026)
  • Low FX Fees: Around 0.2% on weekdays for EEA/UK/Swiss residents (roughly 2% for the rest of the world) — below the 1.5–3% markup standard bank cards typically charge on foreign spending; the rate that applies to you depends on your residency
  • Real-time LTV Monitoring: The app shows your card spending as a percentage of collateral — if you spend too much relative to your holdings, you must deposit more or risk partial liquidation
  • Spending Limits: Customisable daily, weekly, and monthly caps — set these conservatively to prevent card spending from pushing your LTV into dangerous territory

Cashback Program

Earn cashback in NEXO tokens on all purchases, with rates increasing based on your loyalty tier status:

  • Base Tier: 0.5% cashback in NEXO (or 0.1% in BTC) on all purchases with monthly payouts
  • Silver Tier: 0.7% cashback in NEXO (or 0.2% in BTC) with additional benefits and faster processing
  • Gold Tier: 1% cashback in NEXO (or 0.3% in BTC) plus priority support and enhanced features
  • Platinum Tier: 2% cashback in NEXO (or 0.5% in BTC) with maximum benefits and VIP treatment
  • Bonus Categories: Enhanced cashback rates for specific merchant categories during promotional periods

When the Nexo Card Makes Sense

The card is worth using if you hold crypto you do not want to sell but need fiat spending power. Your BTC or ETH serves as collateral — you spend fiat via Mastercard, and your crypto position stays intact. This avoids a taxable disposal event in most jurisdictions (check with your tax adviser, as rules vary). If you travel frequently, the card's low foreign-exchange fee (around 0.2% on weekdays for EEA/UK/Swiss residents, roughly 2% elsewhere) still undercuts the 1.5–3% markup most bank cards charge on international transactions.

However, you should be aware of the collateral risk: if your crypto drops sharply while you have a large outstanding card balance, Nexo may liquidate part of your holdings to cover the exposure. Keep your card spending well below your total collateral value, and monitor the LTV ratio in the app.

User Experience & Platform Interface

Web Platform

Nexo's web dashboard loads in under 2 seconds and organises your holdings into a single-screen overview: total portfolio value, daily interest accrued, active loans with LTV status, and card balance. The interface resembles online banking more than a crypto exchange, which is intentional — Nexo targets users who want simplicity rather than advanced trading screens. Key actions (deposit, earn, borrow, swap) are each accessible in 2 clicks from the dashboard.

  • Real-time interest accumulation display updated every 60 seconds — you can watch your daily earnings grow
  • One-click earning: deposit an asset and it immediately begins earning at your tier rate, no configuration needed
  • Tax centre with downloadable transaction history in CSV format, compatible with Koinly, CoinTracker, and TurboTax
  • Portfolio analytics showing historical yield performance, tier status, and projected annual earnings

Mobile Applications

The iOS and Android apps mirror the full web functionality. If you rely primarily on mobile, the app handles deposits, withdrawals, swaps, card management, and loan monitoring without needing to log in via desktop. Biometric authentication (Face ID, fingerprint) means you can check your portfolio in seconds.

  • Push notifications for interest payouts, loan health factor changes, and price alerts on collateral assets
  • Instant card freeze/unfreeze if your Nexo Card is lost or you suspect fraudulent charges
  • In-app swap with live rate quotes — execution at displayed price for 15 seconds, no slippage surprises
  • Multi-language support (25+ languages) with localised content and currency display

Customer Support

Nexo offers 24/7 live chat (all tiers) and dedicated phone support for Platinum members. If you have a withdrawal issue or suspect unauthorised access, use the live chat — response times average under 5 minutes for security-related queries. Email support handles complex account issues but can take 24–48 hours. For amounts above $100,000, you should request a dedicated relationship manager through the institutional desk, which provides direct phone and email access to a named contact.

Nexo vs Major Competitors

Nexo vs YouHodler

If you are choosing between these two CeFi yield platforms, the honest framing is how much either lets you check. Nexo's cover sits with its custodians, and neither platform publishes policy wording a depositor could read, so 'insurance depth' is not something you can compare. YouHodler offers competitive base-tier stablecoin rates (up to ~8% without token-holding requirements) and simpler fee structures.

Nexo holds registrations across several jurisdictions (California DFPI, AUSTRAC, Hong Kong, Poland, Seychelles) and has re-entered the US, but it is not yet MiCA-authorised in the EU and is not on the UK FCA register, so its regulatory footprint is broad but shallower than a licence-by-licence reading might suggest. YouHodler is not FINMA-licensed and not FCA-authorised; its Swiss cover is AML-only membership of the PolyReg self-regulatory organisation (an SRO), which is narrower than a banking or securities licence. Weigh both against your own jurisdiction; neither offers the depth of a fully authorised bank. As of July 2026, YouHodler has suspended new-account onboarding across the EU/EEA (existing users retain access) and does not serve the US, though it does still serve UK residents for GBP deposits/withdrawals and crypto-backed lending — only promotional offers are withheld from UK customers under FCA rules.

Nexo vs Binance Earn

Binance Earn offers a wider range of products (Locked Staking, Launchpool, Dual Investment) but with a more complex interface that can overwhelm beginners. Nexo's banking-style UX is better suited if your goal is simple deposit-and-earn without navigating a full exchange. You should also consider the regulatory factor: Nexo's MiCA CASP application is still pending and it is not on the UK FCA register, whilst Binance has faced regulatory restrictions in multiple European markets — neither is fully EU-authorised.

On rates, Binance Simple Earn typically offers 1–6% on major assets without token-gating — lower than Nexo's Platinum tier but available to all users. If you already trade actively on Binance and want yield on idle assets, Binance Earn is convenient. If your primary goal is yield maximisation with insurance protection, Nexo's dedicated lending infrastructure is the stronger choice.

Advantages & Disadvantages

Advantages:

  • Regulatory Coverage: Registrations per Nexo's licences page (California DFPI, AUSTRAC, Hong Kong, Poland, Seychelles); MiCA CASP application pending with Bulgarian FSC (filed February 2026); no UK FCA registration or Bulgarian VASP licence; US products relaunched in 2026 after the 2023 SEC settlement
  • Insurance: Cover exists at the custodian, not at Nexo: Ledger's pooled $150 million programme underwritten by Arch Insurance (UK) Limited, shared across all of Ledger's enterprise clients (22 August 2026). Nexo names no figure of its own and publishes no policy wording
  • Interest Rates: Up to 9.5% APY on USDT and 8.5% on USDC — Nexo's advertised ceilings on 22 August 2026 — with daily compounding
  • Instant Loans: Crypto-backed lending approved in 60 seconds, from around 2.9% APR (0% only for top tiers at LTV ≤20% or via Zero-interest Credit)
  • Nexo Card: Spend crypto anywhere with 0.5–2% cashback and no monthly fees
  • Transparent Operations: SOC 2 Type 2 and SOC 3 controls audits (A-LIGN), which evidence how Nexo runs its systems rather than whether its reserves cover its liabilities; the Moore reserves attestation announced in 2023 is no longer published
  • Survival Record: Continued operations through 2022 crisis while Celsius, BlockFi, Voyager collapsed
  • Institutional Services: White-label API, dedicated relationship managers, corporate treasury solutions

Disadvantages:

  • Counterparty Risk: Centralised service with inherent custody risks despite insurance coverage
  • Geographic Restrictions: Not available in some US states and certain countries due to local regulations
  • NEXO Token Dependency: Best rates and 0% APR loans require holding NEXO, creating token concentration risk
  • Limited Trading Pairs: Fewer options compared to major exchanges like Binance or Coinbase
  • Withdrawal Limits: Daily withdrawal limits may restrict large transactions unless you arrange increased limits in advance
  • Rate Variability: APY adjusts every 24 hours based on market conditions and may decrease during low-demand periods
  • Token Volatility: NEXO token price fluctuations affect loyalty tier stability and can unexpectedly change your effective loan costs and interest rates

Getting Started with Nexo: Complete Guide

Account Registration

KYC verification typically completes within 15 minutes if you have your passport or national ID ready. You should also prepare a utility bill or bank statement dated within the last 3 months for address verification. Once verified, you can deposit via bank transfer (SEPA for EU, wire for US) or crypto transfer and begin earning interest the same day.

  • Initial Signup: Visit Nexo.io and create your account with email verification and a secure password
  • Identity Verification: Complete KYC with your government ID and proof of address to get full service access
  • Security Setup: Enable 2FA, set up withdrawal whitelisting, and configure your security preferences to protect your funds
  • Initial Deposit: Fund your account via crypto transfer or bank deposit to start earning interest immediately
  • Loyalty Optimisation: Consider acquiring NEXO tokens to unlock enhanced benefits and better rates for your portfolio

Maximising Earnings

To get the most out of Nexo, follow these best practices:

  • Choose Your Strategy: Decide between flexible and fixed terms based on your liquidity needs and risk tolerance
  • Optimise Loyalty Tier: Calculate the optimal NEXO token holdings for your maximum benefit-to-risk ratio
  • Diversify Your Assets: Spread your holdings across different cryptocurrencies and fiat currencies for better risk management
  • Monitor Your Performance: Track your earnings regularly and adjust your strategy based on market conditions and your personal goals
  • Compound Your Growth: Reinvest your earnings to maximise your long-term wealth accumulation

NEXO Token Tier Strategy

Before you deposit, calculate whether reaching a higher loyalty tier is worth the NEXO token exposure. For a $20,000 portfolio, reaching Platinum requires holding $2,000 in NEXO tokens (10%). If NEXO drops 50% — which has happened — your $2,000 becomes $1,000 and you may fall to Gold tier, losing the rate bonus on your entire portfolio. You should only target Platinum if you can tolerate this volatility and if the rate difference on your deposit size exceeds your estimated worst-case NEXO loss.

Gold tier (5–10% NEXO) offers a practical middle ground: a 25% interest bonus with roughly half the token exposure of Platinum. For most users holding under $50,000, Gold tier provides the best risk-adjusted return when you factor in NEXO price volatility.

Nexo vs Competitors

FeatureNexoYouHodlerBinance Earn
Max APYUp to 9.5% (USDT)~4-8%~3-6%
Regulation✅ Multi-jurisdictionAML-only (Swiss PolyReg/SRO; not FINMA-licensed)Limited
Crypto Card✅ Yes❌ No✅ Yes
Instant Loans✅ Yes✅ Yes❌ No
InsuranceCustodian's policyLimited✅ SAFU fund
Best ForLending focusExisting users (EU/EEA onboarding suspended Jul 2026; no US; UK served, no promos)All-in-one

Our Verdict on Nexo

Nexo is the most compliant and operationally proven CeFi lending platform available in 2026. The single strongest data point: Nexo survived the 2022 CeFi crisis that bankrupted Celsius ($4.7B in user assets frozen), BlockFi ($10B AUM at peak), and Voyager ($5.8B in assets locked). During that period, Nexo maintained full withdrawals and continued paying interest on schedule. No other CeFi yield platform can make this claim.

The platform is best suited for three user profiles. First, conservative earners who want stablecoin yields (up to 9.5% APY on USDT at Nexo's advertised ceiling) with some regulatory recourse — Nexo's multi-jurisdiction registrations give a depositor a regulator to complain to, which DeFi protocols cannot. The insurance is a weaker argument than it looks: it is the custodian's contract, not yours. Second, crypto holders who need liquidity without selling — the instant loan feature (60-second approval, from around 2.9% APR, 0% only for top tiers with LTV ≤20%) avoids taxable disposal events. Third, frequent travellers and spenders who want the Nexo Card's low-FX-fee spending against crypto collateral.

Nexo is less suitable if you prioritise maximum yield without token-gating requirements (YouHodler offers higher base-tier rates), if you want fully non-custodial yield (consider staking ETH directly via Lido at ~3.5% APY with no counterparty risk), or if you are uncomfortable holding a single-issuer utility token (NEXO) to access premium features. The token dependency is Nexo's most significant structural limitation: the best rates require 10%+ portfolio allocation to NEXO, which introduces concentration risk that works against the diversification principles most financial advisers recommend.

On balance, Nexo offers the best risk-adjusted return in CeFi lending when you weight insurance, regulatory standing, and operational track record alongside raw yield figures. The platform's conservative approach may deliver lower returns than aggressive competitors during bull markets, but it is the only CeFi lender with an eight-year zero-breach, zero-downtime track record through the worst credit event in crypto history.

CryptoInvesting Team Independent crypto research since 2023. We test every platform we review — no sponsored content, no ads.
Last verified:

Conclusion

Nexo advertises up to 9.5% APY on USDT and 8.5% on USDC (its published ceilings on 22 August 2026), and instant crypto-backed loans from around 2.9% APR, with 0% only for top tiers at LTV ≤20% or via Zero-interest Credit. The custody model — a mix of hot and cold storage across Ledger, Fireblocks, Bakkt and Tangany, with FIPS 140-2 Level 3 HSMs — is competitive with what most CeFi rivals provide. The insurance is not Nexo's: Ledger publishes a pooled $150 million programme underwritten by Arch Insurance (UK) Limited and shared across all of its enterprise clients, and Nexo publishes no figure, no exclusions and no renewal date of its own.

Regulatory standing varies by jurisdiction: registrations per Nexo's licences page (California DFPI, AUSTRAC, Hong Kong, Poland, Seychelles), no UK FCA registration or Bulgarian VASP licence, and a pending Bulgarian-FSC MiCA application in the EU; Nexo relaunched US products in 2026 after its January 2023 SEC settlement.

The primary trade-off is the NEXO token dependency: the best rates and 0% loan terms require holding 10%+ of portfolio value in NEXO, introducing token price risk. Users who prefer straightforward yield without loyalty mechanics have no published base-tier rate to weigh: Nexo advertises ceilings only, so what a non-holder earns becomes visible after the deposit rather than before it. Daily rate adjustments mean current APY figures are indicative, not guaranteed.

For investors seeking CeFi yield with verifiable compliance and insurance rather than pure rate maximisation, Nexo is the most operationally proven option. Its track record through the 2022 lending crisis — when competitors with higher yield promises collapsed — is the clearest data point available for evaluating counterparty reliability in this category. If you decide to use Nexo, you should start with a small test deposit on flexible terms, verify withdrawal functionality, and only scale up once you are comfortable with the platform's operational flow and your jurisdiction's regulatory status.

Sources & References

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Nexo safe?
Nexo's own licences page lists registrations with the California DFPI, Australia's AUSTRAC, Hong Kong, Poland and the Seychelles — not a UK FCA registration or a Bulgarian VASP licence — and its MiCA CASP application was filed with the Bulgarian FSC in February 2026 and is pending. Nexo settled with the SEC in January 2023 but relaunched US products in 2026. On insurance, Nexo names no coverage figure of its own; the figure that exists is its custodian's. Ledger publishes a pooled $150 million programme underwritten by Arch Insurance (UK) Limited, and the pool is shared across every Ledger enterprise client rather than set aside for Nexo (read 22 August 2026). Nexo has recorded zero security breaches since 2018, including survival through the 2022 CeFi lending crisis that bankrupted Celsius, BlockFi, and Voyager. As a centralised platform, you should understand the counterparty risk: your funds are in Nexo's custody, not in your own wallet.
What interest rates does Nexo offer?
Nexo's published ceilings on 22 August 2026 are up to 9.5% APY on USDT, 8.5% on USDC, 5.25% on Ethereum and 4.7% on Bitcoin. The 'up to 13%' it advertises is its rate on DOT, not on a stablecoin. Each figure assumes the top loyalty tier; Nexo publishes no per-tier table, so what a base-tier depositor receives is not disclosed. Rates adjust daily and are not guaranteed.
How does the Nexo loyalty programme work?
The loyalty programme has four tiers (Base, Silver, Gold, Platinum) based on the percentage of NEXO tokens in your portfolio. Higher tiers receive better interest rates, lower loan rates, higher card cashback, and additional perks. Platinum tier (10%+ NEXO) offers the maximum benefits, including 0% interest loans under certain conditions.
Can I withdraw my funds anytime from Nexo?
Funds in flexible terms can be withdrawn anytime without penalties. Fixed-term deposits have lock-up periods but offer higher rates. Most withdrawals are processed within 24 hours. Daily withdrawal limits apply, but can be increased through verification.
How does Nexo's insurance coverage work?
It is a custodian's policy, not Nexo's. Nexo names no coverage figure; Ledger publishes a pooled $150 million programme underwritten by Arch Insurance (UK) Limited (read 22 August 2026). 'Pooled' is Ledger's own word and it decides what the number means: $150 million is a ceiling on everything Ledger holds for all its enterprise clients at once, not an allocation to Nexo and not a limit per account. Marsh brokered that cover rather than carrying it. Nexo publishes no scope clause, no exclusion list, no renewal date and no policy wording; Ledger's own announcement names three insured perils, and anything outside them is outside the cover.
What is the Nexo Card and how does it work?
The Nexo Card lets you spend crypto without selling it. Your crypto serves as collateral for purchases, helping preserve your positions. The card earns up to 2% cashback in NEXO tokens (or up to 0.5% in BTC) at Platinum tier, works at over 100 million merchants worldwide, and has no monthly or annual fees.
Are there any fees for using Nexo?
Nexo has no fees for deposits, earnings, or basic account maintenance. Trading fees start at 0.5% with loyalty discounts. Loan origination is free, and the Nexo Card has no monthly fees. Withdrawal fees are tier- and network-dependent: withdrawals on lower-cost networks are free at every tier, while Platinum members also get one free withdrawal per month on major networks. NEXO holders receive additional discounts.
How does Nexo compare to traditional banks?
Nexo advertises much higher rates (up to 9.5% on USDT against 0.1–2% in banks), but the protections are not equivalent. A bank deposit carries a statutory guarantee; a Nexo balance carries a custodian's private policy that answers for theft, not for the platform failing. Its reserve attestations show assets existed at a moment rather than promising anything if they stop existing.
Can US users access Nexo?
Yes. After exiting in 2022, Nexo re-entered the US market on 16 February 2026 through a partnership with Bakkt, offering yield, an exchange and crypto-backed credit lines via licensed US providers. The old Earn Interest Product — discontinued after the $45 million January 2023 SEC and 17-state-regulator settlement — stays closed. Product availability still varies by state, so check Nexo's supported-jurisdictions page before signing up. Separately, a resolved January 2026 California DFPI consent order is moving Californian balances to a licensed US affiliate.
What happens to my funds if Nexo shuts down?
User funds are held in segregated custody accounts with custodians including Ledger and Bakkt. In the event of service closure, these funds would be returned via the custodians. The insurance behind them belongs to the custodian rather than to Nexo: Ledger's pooled $150 million programme, underwritten by Arch Insurance (UK) Limited and shared across all of Ledger's enterprise clients, answers for theft of keys and insider collusion. It does not answer for business insolvency, and Nexo publishes no renewal date for it.
How do I optimise my Nexo loyalty tier?
Calculate how much NEXO to hold based on your portfolio size and goals. Higher tiers boost interest rates and reduce loan costs. Monitor NEXO price volatility and rebalance your holdings as needed to maintain your target tier.
Does Nexo provide tax reporting assistance?
Nexo offers detailed tax tools: complete transaction histories, automated tax form generation, and integrations with popular tax software. It supports multi-jurisdiction compliance and provides access to tax professionals for complex cases. All activity is clearly documented for accurate reporting.

← Back to All Reviews

Editorial Independence

This review is editorially independent. We hold no affiliate or referral relationship with the platform assessed here and earn no commission from it — our conclusions reflect our own research and testing. See how we review for the methodology behind our ratings.

Our Review Methodology

CryptoInvesting Team maintains funded accounts on every platform we review. Each review includes a full registration and KYC cycle, a real deposit and withdrawal test, and a hands-on evaluation of the trading or earning interface. Fee data, APY rates, and supported assets are verified against the platform directly — not sourced from aggregators. We re-check published figures quarterly and update pages when terms change. Referral partnerships never influence editorial ratings or recommendations.